Soviet Victory Day

The Soviet Victory Day or May 9 marks the capitulation of Nazi Germany to the Soviet Union in the Second World War (also known as the Great Patriotic War in the Soviet Union and some post-Soviet states). It was first inaugurated in the fifteen republics of the Soviet Union, following the signing of the surrender document late in the evening on May 8, 1945 (May 9 by Moscow Time). It happened after the original capitulation that Germany earlier agreed to the joint Allied forces of the Western Front. The Soviet government announced the victory early on May 9 after the signing ceremony in Berlin. Though the official inauguration happened in 1945 (which means it has been celebrated since 1946), the holiday became a non-labour day only in 1965 and only in some of the countries.

After the collapse of the Soviet Union it ceased to be observed in Uzbekistan as from 1988, but partially restored in 1999 as Memorial/Rememberance Day. After their separation from the Soviet Union, the Baltic countries now commemorate the end of WWII on May 8, the Victory in Europe Day.

In Russia and other post-Soviet states, the Soviet victory over Nazi Germany in the Great Patriotic War of 1941-45 is marked on May 9, a day later than the rest of the world, since it was early morning in Moscow when Germany's official surrender was signed outside Berlin. While Victory Day is marked with grand military spectacle in Moscow, other former Soviet states also have their solemn remembrances.