15th Academy Awards

The 15th Academy Awards was held in the Cocoanut Grove at The Ambassador Hotel in Los Angeles.

Best Picture honors went to the film Mrs. Miniver. The ceremony is most famous for the speech by the film’s Oscar-winning actress Greer Garson. Garson’s acceptance speech as Best Actress ran nearly 6 minutes and is generally considered to be the longest acceptance speech at an Academy Awards ceremony.

Also notable at the ceremony, Irving Berlin presented the Academy Award for Best Song, which he ended up winning for "White Christmas".

The 1942 Academy Award Winners

Picture: Mrs. Miniver
Actor: James Cagney (Yankee Doodle Dandy)
Actress: Greer Garson (Mrs. Miniver)
Supporting Actor: Van Heflin (Johnny Eager)
Supporting Actress: Teresa Wright (Mrs. Miniver)
Director: William Wyler (Mrs. Miniver)
Adapted Screenplay: George Froeschel, James Hilton, Claudine West, and Arthur Wimperis (Mrs. Miniver)
Original Screenplay: Michael Kanin and Ring Lardner Jr. (Woman of the Year) / Emeric Pressburger (The Invaders)
Song: "White Christmas" (Holiday Inn)
Score: Now, Voyager (Dramatic or Comedy) / Yankee Doodle Dandee (Musical)
Cinematography: Mrs. Miniver (Black and White) / The Black Swan (Color)
Interior Decoration: This Above All (Black and White) / My Gal Sal (Color)
Film Editing: The Pride of the Yankees
Sound: Yankee Doodle Dandy
Special Effects: Reap the Wild Wind
Short Films: Der Fuehrer's Face (Cartoons) / Speaking of Animals and Their Families (One-Reel) / Beyond the Line of Duty (Two-Reel)
Documentaries: Battle of Midway / Kokoda Front Line / Moscow Strikes Back / Prelude to War

The fifteenth Academy Awards ceremony was held on Thursday, March 4, 1943 at the Coconut Grove of the Ambassador Hotel. While accepting the award for best actress, Greer Garson (Mrs. Miniver) is said to have given a thank you speech lasting nearly an hour. However long people might have thought it lasted, it really only lasted about five and a half minutes. Because of the war, the statuettes were made out of plaster rather than bronze. Bob Hope was the host of the ceremony.