Stanford Beats Dartmouth in NCAA Men's Basketball Championship

The 1942 NCAA Men's Division I Basketball Tournament involved 8 schools playing in single-elimination play to determine the national champion of men's NCAA Division I college basketball.

It began on March 20, 1942, and ended with the championship game on March 28 in Kansas City, Missouri. A total of 9 games were played, including a third place game in each region.

Stanford, coached by Everett Dean, won the national title with a 53-38 victory in the final game over Dartmouth, coached by O. B. Cowles. Howie Dallmar of Stanford was named the tournament's Most Outstanding Player.

Everett Dean remains, to this day, the only coach to have never lost an NCAA tournament game, going 3-0 in his lone appearance.

Long Island, 24–3 during the regular season, was heavily favored to win its third NIT in five years, but the Blackbirds were ousted in the first round by West Virginia. The Mountaineers, 19–4 coming into the tourney, beat LIU in overtime, then knocked off Toledo and nipped Western Kentucky in the last 20 seconds to win the title. Rudy Baric scored 17 in the final for WVU and was named MVP.