Ford Taunus is First Produced

Ford Taunus was a range of family cars sold by Ford in Germany and other countries.

Models from 1970 onward were similar to the Ford Cortina in the United Kingdom.

The model line was named after the Taunus mountain range in Germany and was first made in 1939 and continued through several versions until 1994.

The original Taunus was a development of the Eifel and used the same 1172 cc four cylinder engine but in a longer chassis and a streamlined body. It was the first German Ford to have hydraulic brakes. Due to the war, production was interrupted from 1942 to 1948. 74,128 were made including estate cars and light vans.

From 1952 to 1968 all German Fords were called the Taunus, using the model names 12M, 15M, 17M, 20M, and 26M. The "M" is said to stand for "Meisterstück", in English "Masterpiece". Taunus was also sometimes adopted as the brand-name in export markets, particularly where British and North American Fords were also available.
The 12, 15 and 17M models had a straight-4, later ones a V4 engine. The 20 and 26M models had a V6 engine. The 12, 15, 17 etc. refer to the engine displacement; 1200, 1500, 1700 cc etc.
From 1962 to 1970, the smaller models 12M (P4) and 12M/15M (P6) had front wheel drive. All other models had rear wheel drive.
The following models were offered:

Smaller line: 12M, 15M

First generation 12M (G13) (1952-1959), 15M (1955–1959)

The first new German Ford after World War II. New pontoon body, similar in style to British Ford Zephyr. 12M maintains the old sidevalve engine of the Taunus, 15M uses a new and more powerful engine:
12M: 1172 cc, 38 hp (28 kW), 112 km/h (70 mph)
15M: 1498 cc, 55 hp (40 kW), 128 km/h (80 mph)
Body styles were two door sedan, two door station wagon and sedan delivery.

Second generation 12M (1959–1962)

Not a new car, but a rework of the 1952 model. All cars are called 12M, though both engines are continued (the car with the bigger engine is called "Taunus 12M 1.5 litre").
Body styles were the same as in the 1952 model.

Third generation 12M (P4) (1962–1966)

Same size, but a completely new car based on the Ford Cardinal project. New body, new V4 engine, front wheel drive. The first Ford car with front wheel drive (second is Ford Corcel, third is Ford Fiesta). Engines:
1.2 litre: 1183 cc, 40 hp (29 kW), 123 km/h (77 mph)
1.5 litre: 1498 cc, 50, 55 or 65 hp (37, 40 or 48 kW), 135, 139 or 144 km/h (84, 87 or 90 mph)
Body styles were two door sedan, four door sedan, two door coupé, two door station wagon and sedan delivery.

Fourth generation 12M (P6) (1966–1970), 15M (P6) (1966–1970)

New body, engines and platform are continued. Again, the car with the bigger engine is called 15M. Engines:
12M 1.2 litre: 1183 cc, 45 hp (33 kW), 125 km/h (78 mph)
12M 1.3 litre: 1305 cc, 50 or 53 hp (37 or 39 kW), 130 or 134 km/h (81 or 84 mph)
15M 1.5 litre: 1498 cc, 55 or 65 hp (40 or 47 kW), 136 or 145 km/h (85 or 90 mph)
15M 1.7 litre: 1699 cc, 70 or 75 hp (51 or 55 kW), 153 or 158 km/h (95 or 98 mph)
Body styles were unchanged from the P4.
In 1970, the P6 is replaced by the Taunus TC (see below).

Bigger line: 17M, 20M, 26M

First generation 17M (P2) (1957–1960)

Growing prosperity in postwar Germany encouraged Ford to offer a line of bigger and more expensive cars. The car was as long as (though significantly narrower than) the British Consul Mk2, but a different car. It presented a style similar to American 1956 Fords, featuring substantial (at least by European standards) tailfins. The transatlantic flamboyance of the car's styling gained it the soubriquet "Baroque Taunus". Unusually for middle class German cars of this period, it was available with either two or four doors.[1] The competition noticed, and from 1959 it would become possible to buy an Opel Rekord with four doors.
The P2 used a ohv engine with 1698 cc and 60 hp (44 kW). A maximum speed of 128 km/h (80 mph) was quoted. A road test of the time commended the smoothness of the three speed all-synchromesh manual transmission system.[1]

Second generation 17M (P3) (1960–1964)

Completely new body in very modern style. The look of car reminded some critics of a bath tub, and it consequently gained the soubriquet "Taunus Badewanne"[2]. Three engine sizes were now offered:
1.5 litre: 1498 cc, 55 hp (40 kW), 136 km/h (85 mph)
1.7 litre: 1698 cc, 60 or 65 hp (44 or 48 kW), 138 or 140 km/h (86 or 88 mph)
1.8 litre: 1758 cc, 70 or 75 hp (51 or 55 kW), 148 or 154 km/h (92 or 96 mph).
A very successful car.

Third generation 17M (P5) (1964–1967), 20M (P5) (1964–1967)

New body, new engines. 17M now gets a V4 engine:
1.5 litre: 1498 cc, 60 hp (44 kW), 140 km/h (88 mph)
1.7 litre: 1699 cc, 65 or 70 hp (48 or 51 kW), 145 or 150 km/h (91 or 94 mph).
New 20M gets a V6 engine with 2.0 litres (1998 cc) and 85 or 90 hp (63 or 66 kW) with a top speed of 158 or 161 km/h (99 or 101 mph). Again, a good selling car.

Fourth generation 17M (P7) (1967–1968), 20M (P7) (1967–1968)
New body, engines and platform are continued. Very big, very boxy, very American. Not the car which European car buyers desire. A complete failure.
The engines of the 17M/20M P5 are continued with only one addition on the top end. It is the
20M 2.3 litre: 2293 cc, 108 hp (79 kW), 170 km/h (106 mph).

Fifth generation 17M (P7.2) (1968–1971), 20M (P7.2) (1968–1971), 26M (1969–1971)

Shrinking sales of the P7 are forcing Ford to offer a restyled car only one year later. Ford is so ashamed by the failure of the last year's model that the new car is again called P7. Here, to avoid confusion, it is called P7.2, sometimes it is called P7b. 26M, introduced in 1969, is the top of the line version with the biggest engine (2.6 litres) and the most luxurious trim level. The engin program is enlarged; now there are two base engines (V4 and V6) in six displacement sizes and nine power stages:
17M 1.5 litre: 1498 cc, 60 hp (44 kW), 135 km/h (85 mph)
17M 1.7 litre: 1699 cc, 65 or 75 hp (48 or 55 kW), 140 or 150 km/h (88 or 94 mph)
17M 1.8 litre: 1812 cc, 82 hp (60 kW), 153 km/h (96 mph)
20M 2.0 litre: 1998 cc, 85 or 90 hp (63 or 66 kW), 155 or 160 km/h (97 or 100 mph)
20M 2.3 litre: 2293 cc, 108 or 125 hp (79 or 92 kW), 170 or 180 km/h (106 or 112 mph)
20M 2.6 litre, 26M: 2550 cc, 125 hp (92 kW), 180 km/h (112 mph)
Please note: The 17M 1.8 litre uses a V6 engine. The 2.6 litre engine is optional on 20M, but standard on 26M.

Ford Taunus 20M RS

Ford Taunus 20M RS Coupé made in Germany as a (2300 S) P7b and (2600) P7b. In the 1968 London-Sydney Marathon Ford used three Ford Taunus 20M RS from Germany and Belgium. In 1969 a Ford Taunus 20M RS won the Safari and as well occasionally a Capri was seen with works involvement.
This is the last specifically German Ford. In early 1972, it is replaced by the new Consul and Granada.

Whilst Ford was busy producing the Mk II Consul in the UK Ford Germany launched the similar Taunus 17M, Phase 2 in 1957. The new Taunus also featured an over-square four cylinder engine of 1698cc and also boasted a four speed gearbox, unfortunately the Taunus cars imported into the UK had a three speed gearbox, maybe Ford didn't want to upstage the UK built Consul which still used a three speed 'box!.

Production of the 17M Phase 2 continued in Germany until 1960.