The Kingdom of Yugoslavia Is formed

The Kingdom of Yugoslavia, "Land of the South Slavs," was formed on October 3, 1929.

It included the regions of Serbia, Montenegro, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, and Macedonia. Croatia, Slovenia, and Macedonia declared their independence from Yugoslavia in 1991; Bosnia and Herzegovina did so the following year. The republics of Serbia and Montenegro declared a new Federal Republic of Yugoslavia in April 1992; Montenegro and Serbia became separate independent nations in June and October 2006, respectively.

In 1938 and 1939, folklorist Sidney Robertson Cowell made several sound recordings and photographs of Croatian-American singers and performers in Woodside, San Mateo, and Mountain View, California. The sound recordings include Dalmatian dance music, Serb-Croatian oral epic songs, and instrumental selections on the gusle, the misnice, the svirala, the lirica, and the dvorgrle.

Yugoslavia (Serbo-Croatian, Bosnian, Croatian, Macedonian, Serbian, Slovene: Jugoslavija; Cyrillic script: Југославија; literally in English: "South Slavia" or "Land of the South Slavs") is a term that describes three political entities that existed successively on the Balkan Peninsula in Europe, during most of the 20th century.

The first country to be known by this name was the Kingdom of Yugoslavia, which before 3 October 1929 was known as the Kingdom of Serbs, Croats and Slovenes. It was established on 1 December 1918 by the union of the State of Slovenes, Croats and Serbs and the Kingdom of Serbia (to which the Kingdom of Montenegro was annexed on 13 November 1918, and the Conference of Ambassadors in Paris gave international recognition to the union on 13 July 1922). The Kingdom of Yugoslavia was invaded by the Axis powers in 1941, and because of the events that followed, was officially abolished in 1943 and 1945.