Ottawa Senators win Stanley Cup

The 1927 Stanley Cup Final NHL championship series was contested by the Ottawa Senators and the Boston Bruins.

It was the first solely contested by National Hockey League teams since the demise of the Western Hockey League. As of 2009, the Cup has not been contested by teams outside the league. It was won by the Ottawa Senators, coached by Dave Gill, over the Boston Bruins, coached by Art Ross. This was the Senators' fourth win since 1920, and eleventh overall, but it marked the end of the dynasty. The original Senators did not win another.

The Stanley Cup Final was technically a best of three series. However, it went four games because of two ties. At that time, if a match was tied after one twenty-minute overtime period, the game went in the books as a tie. These were the last ties in Stanley Cup history.
Rough play marred the series as in the final game, Hooley Smith cross-checked Boston's Harry Oliver and late in the game Billy Coutu attacked referee Jerry Laflamme and tackled referee Billy Bell. He was subsequently expelled for life. Hooley Smith was suspended for one month of the following season for his attack on Oliver.
The April 13, 1927, game at the Ottawa Auditorium was the last Stanley Cup Final game in Ottawa until the June 2, 2007, game played at Scotiabank Place between the modern Senators and the Anaheim Ducks. It is known that one fan, Russell Williams, attended both games, both won by Ottawa.[1]

Since the WCHL folded and no other major professional league existed, the Stanley Cup became the sole property of the National Hockey League in 1927. With that, the Boston Bruins met the Ottawa Senators in what was the first Stanley Cup finals of the new era. Ottawa advanced to the championship by handily defeating the Montreal Canadiens, while Boston prevailed over Chicago and the Rangers to vie for the Cup. In the finals, Cy Denneny scored four of Ottawa's seven goals, as the Sens defeated Boston two games to none, including two overtime ties.

The 1926–27 Ottawa Senators season was the club's 10th season of play in the NHL, 42nd overall. The Senators would win the Stanley Cup for the fourth time in seven years, and 11th overall including the pre-NHL years.

The Montreal Canadiens would defeat their cross town rivals, the Montreal Maroons and face the Senators in a 2 game total goal series, and Ottawa would win it by a score of 5–1, and match up against the Boston Bruins in the Stanley Cup Finals.

The Senators dominated the regular season again winning the Canadian Division with a league best record of 30-10-4; Cy Denneny again led the team with 23 points including 17 goals. While goalie Alex Connell again dominated with another 12 Shutouts as well as a 1.57 GAA. With the rival leagues gone the NHL took sole possession of the Stanley Cup and revamped their playoffs. In the playoffs the Senators had received a bye to the semifinals, where they dumped the Montreal Canadiens 5-1 in a 2-game total goal series. They would go on to meet the Boston Bruins n the first all NHL Stanley Cup Finals. The first game would end deadlocked as neither team could get on the scoreboard. The Senators would garb Game 2 by a score of 3-1, before Game 3 also ended in a tie. The Senators would go on to win Game 4 by a score of 2-0 to claim their 4th Stanley Cup, as NHL president Frank Calder ruled the series would go 4 games no matter what, and since they were 2-0-2 they were awarded the Stanley Cup.