Montreal Wanderers win Stanley Cup

Since Ottawa won the challenges, the winner of the regular season of the NHA would take over the Stanley Cup championship.

The Wanderers having won the championship of the NHA, took possession of the Cup from Ottawa. They had a challenge from Berlin, champions of the Ontario Professional Hockey League and easily defeated them. For 1910, there would be two Stanley Cup holders, Ottawa until March, and Montreal for the rest of the year.

Wanderers vs. Berlin

March 12

Berlin 3 at Wanderers 7

Hugh Lehman G Riley Hern
Earl Seibert 1 P Jack Marshall
Harvey Corbeau 1 CP Ernie Johnson
E. "Toad" Edmunds F Frank Glass
Ezra Dumart F Ernie Russell 4
Ray Anderson F Harry Hyland 3
Oren Frood 1 F Jimmy Gardner

Referees - Bowie & Kirby

The Ottawa Hockey Club played two Cup challenges during the season, but lost the Cup to their rivals the Montreal Wanderers who won the league championship and played a Cup challenge afterwards.

Montreal Wanderers March 1910 Stanley Cup Champions


Frank "Pud" Glass (Captain)
Jack Marshall

Bill Chipcase
Jimmy Gardner
Ernie Russell
Harry Hyland

Cecil Blachford
Ernie "Moose" Johnson

William "Riley" Hern

Fred Strachan (President)
Dickie Boon (Manager)
Robert Stephanson (Vice President)
Dr. Walter Dorion (Director)
Paul Lefebvre (Trainer)

Stanley Cup engraving:
Montreal Wanderers did not put their name on the Stanley Cup. When the trophy was redesigned in 1948 the words "1910 Montreal Wanderers" was put onto its then-new collar.

When the ECHA went under, teams were forced to join the National Hockey Association for the 1909-10 season. Similar to the previous season, it was a closely fought battle all year between the Ottawa Senators and the Montreal Wanderers. The two met twice during the regular season and by virtue of Montreal's two victories, 3-1 and 7-5, the Wanderers were crowned champions of the NHA capturing the inaugural O'Brien Trophy to take possession of the Stanley Cup. The Wanderers then accepted a Cup challenge from Berlin, who were champions of the Ontario Professional Hockey League. The one-game sudden death match-up was no contest. Ernie Russell and Harry Hyland led the Wanderers, combining for score seven goals en route to a 7-3 victory

With the rise of professional hockey it would be decided that the Eastern Canadian Amateur Hockey Association would dissolve and reform into the Canadian Hockey Association, the first major professional hockey league in Canada. Because the other owners weren't big fans of Wanderer owner/player Jimmy Gardner, they decided to exclude the Wanderers from the new league. Incensed Gardner decided to form a rival league of his, which he vowed would run the CHA out of business. Hooking up with Ambrose O'Brien, a millionaire who had a reputation for having more money then he knew what to do with, Gardner set about forming the NHA (National Hockey Association), which began play in January 1910. Within a month the weaker poorly run CHA went out of business and merged into the NHA giving Jimmy Gardner the last laugh. The Wanderers would dominate the NHA posting an 11-1 record while scoring an incredible 91 goals, led by Ernie Russell who put the puck in the net 32 times in just 12 games. By winning the NHA Championship known as the O'Brien trophy the Wanderers would go on to reclaim the Stanley Cup. They would be challenged by the OPHL Champion Berlin Dutchman. However, in a one game showdown the Wanderers would win easily 7-3.