'A House of Pomegranates' Is Published

A House of Pomegranates is a collection of fairy tales, written by Oscar Wilde, that was published as a second collection for The Happy Prince and Other Tales (1892). Wilde once said that this collection was "intended neither for the British child nor the British public."

The stories included in this collection are as follows:
The Young King
The Birthday of the Infanta
The Fisherman and his Soul
The Star-Child

Now, in building this House of Pomegranates, I had about as much intention of pleasing the British child as I had of pleasing the British public. Mamilius is as entirely delightful as Caliban is entirely detestable, but neither the standard of Mamilius nor the standard of Caliban is my standard. No artist recognises any standard of beauty but that which is suggested by his own temperament. The artist seeks to realise, in a certain material, his immaterial idea of beauty, and thus to transform an idea into an ideal. That is the way an artist makes things. That is why an artist makes things. The artist has no other object in making things.”

— Oscar Wilde, to the editor of the Pall Mall Gazette