Four-Stroke Engine is Patented

The four-stroke or Otto cycle was patented by Felice Malteucci and Eugene Barsanti in 1854 and is used commonly today in the internal combustion engines of construction machinery, trucks, cars and motorcycles.

The four strokes are Intake, Compression, Combustion and exhaust. These strokes occur during the rotations of two crankshafts foe each working cycle of Diesel and Otto Cycle engines.

Four-stroke refers to the four steps in a cycle the Otto cycle which involves the reciprocating movements of a piston in a cylinder. The first step is the Intake also known as "suck". The intake stroke is what starts the engine cycle as fuel move past the valve and enters the combustion chamber. The intake stroke ends with the piston at the far left and moving toward the right.

The four-stroke engine was first patented by Eugenio Barsanti and Felice Matteucci in 1854, followed by a first prototype in 1860. It was also conceptualized by French engineer, Alphonse Beau de Rochas in 1862.

However, the German engineer Nicolaus Otto was the first to develop a functioning four-stroke engine, which is why the four-stroke principle today is commonly known as the Otto cycle and four-stroke engines using spark plugs often are called Otto engines. The Otto Cycle consists of adiabatic compression, heat addition at constant volume, adiabatic expansion and rejection of heat at constant volume.