Sweden and Norway adopt a loose union

The Union between Sweden and Norway (Swedish: Svensk-norska unionen, Unionen mellan Sverige och Norge, Norwegian: Unionen mellom Norge og Sverige), was the union of the kingdoms of Sweden and Norway between 1814 and 1905, when they were united under one monarch in a personal union, following the Treaty of Kiel, the declaration of Norwegian independence from Denmark, a brief war with Sweden, the Convention of Moss, on August 14, 1814, and the Norwegian constitutional revision of November 4, 1814. On the same day, the Norwegian parliament elected the Swedish king Charles XIII king of Norway.