Treaty of Leoben

The Treaty of Leoben (also known as the Peace of Leoben) was signed on 17 April 1797 by Napoleon Bonaparte.

It was a preliminary accord that contained many secret clauses. From these clauses, Austria would lose the Austrian Netherlands and Lombardy in exchange for the Venetian territories of Istria and Dalmatia. The treaty was confirmed and increased by a final peace accord, the Treaty of Campo Formio, on 17 October 1797.