Treaty Of Hopewell Is Signed By Benjamin Hawkins And The Choctaw Indian

On January 3, 1786, the Treaty of Hopewell was signed between U.S. representatives Benjamin Hawkins, Andrew Pickens, and Joseph Martin and members of the Choctaw Nation.

Benjamin Hawkins (August 15, 1754 – June 6, 1816), usually known as Colonel Hawkins, was an American farmer, statesman, and Indian agent from North Carolina. He was a delegate to the Continental Congress and a United States Senator, as well as a long term diplomat and agent to the Creek Indians.