The Articles Of Capitultion Of Montreal Are Signed

The Articles of Capitulation of Montreal were agreed upon between the Governor General of New France, Pierre François de Rigaud, Marquis de Vaudreuil-Cavagnal, and Major-General Jeffrey Amherst on behalf of the French and British crowns.

They were signed on September 8, 1760 in the British camp before the city of Montreal.

There were 55 articles and most were granted by the British Army except those with reference to the Acadians. It contained a large array of demands with regards to the protection of the inhabitants of New France: the French, the Canadians, the Acadians, and the Sauvages (Indians). De Vaudreuil demanded that all be granted the rights and privileges of the other British subjects. The demands consisted of the promise not to punish Canadian militiamen for fighting, the free exercise of the Roman Catholic faith, the continuation of the rights and privileges of the clergy and seigneurs and the guarantee of the rights enjoyed by the Native peoples under the French regime.

In Europe, the North American theatre of the Seven Years' War usually has no special name, and so the entire worldwide conflict is known as the Seven Years' War (or the Guerre de sept ans). The "Seven Years" refers to events in Europe, from the official declaration of war in 1756 to the signing of the peace treaty in 1763. These dates do not correspond with the actual fighting on mainland North America, where the fighting between the two colonial powers was largely concluded in six years, from the Jumonville Glen skirmish in 1754 to the capture of Montreal in 1760. French Canadians may use the term "War of the Conquest" (Guerre de la Conquête), since it is the war in which New France was conquered by the British and became part of the British Empire, but that usage is never employed by most English Canadians. This war is also one of America's "Forgotten Wars".