Pequot War Ends with the Treaty of Hartford

The term Treaty of Hartford applies to three historic agreements negotiated at Hartford, Connecticut.

The 1638 treaty divided the spoils of the Pequot War. The 1650 treaty defined a border between the Dutch Nieuw Amsterdam and English settlers in Connecticut. In the 1786 treaty New York and Massachusetts reached an agreement on their claims of the western land.

The war officially ended on September 1638 when the few survivors of the Pequot tribe were foced to sign the Treaty of Hartfod, also called the Tripartite Treaty, declaring the Pequot nation to be dissolved.